-= AAA =-

A Chance Meeting

  • @ Cannot be used to bring in Wizards [Van] %

A Short Rest

  • This card only allows the extra card draw for moving companies that actually have a site path. It cannot be used with Under-deeps movement, or special movement cards like Belegaer.

A Strident Spawn

  • Card Erratum: Add “Unique.”
  • Allows you to play Half-orcs without Bad Company in play.

Abductor

  • Does not affect Ringwraiths.

Aiglos

  • Does not get the bonus for Doors of Night when used in company vs. company combat.

Akhôrahil

  • Card Erratum: Change “…gives -1 penalty to one…” to “…modifies any one character’s body by -1 for the rest of the turn.
  • See also Rulings by Term, Nazgûl.

Alatar

  • Card Erratum: Change “he must tap and make a corruption check immediately following the attack.” to “he must make a corruption check immediately following the attack, and, if untapped, he must tap.”
  • Alatar can force someone to draw 0 cards when he moves.
  • When Alatar uses his special ability he must face a strike. Alatar overrides all other effects pertaining to the assigning of strikes.
  • Alatar must teleport and declare he is facing a strike before any other strikes are assigned.
  • Allies Alatar controls are discarded when he teleports.

Align Palantír

  • Card Erratum: Add “May not be duplicated on a given Palantír.”
  • Align Palantír can be stored.

Ancient Stair

  • Replacing the site card is considered movement without a movement/hazard phase.

Anduin River

  • The “otherwise” on this card should be read as “alternatively.”

Angmar Arises

  • May not be used to play creatures keyed to double Shadow-lands.
  • @ This card allows you to key creatures to the mentioned regions by name. It does not change the region type used to judge whether an attack is detainment or not. [CoE] %

Arkenstone

  • Card Erratum (minion version): Change “and all cards he controls” to “and all non-follower cards he controls.

Army of the Dead

  • Card Erratum: Add “May not be influenced by an opponent.”

Ash Mountains

  • The “otherwise” on this card should be read as “alternatively.”

Assassin

  • Card Erratum: Gives 2 MP, not 1.
  • If an attack from Assassin is given more than one strike, each additional strike becomes an excess strike (-1 prowess modification) against the attacked character. An Assassin can never assign strikes to more than one character.
  • You may decide to cancel one of the attacks after facing another attack.
  • As a special case, you may cancel the first attack of an Assassin by tapping a character, after strikes are assigned.

Await the Advent of Allies

  • Read “is wounded” as “becomes wounded.”
  • “Playing a resource at the site” means playing a resource that taps the site or a resource that requires the site.

Aware of Their Ways

  • Consider sites to be unique cards for the play of this card.

-= BBB =-

Baduila

  • Read “If Baduila is discarded” as “If you choose to discard Baduila.”

Bad Company

  • Does not allow you to start with a character that says he cannot be in the starting company.

Bade to Rule

  • Bade to Rule may only be played if you are playing an actual Ringwraith deck, not a Fallen-wizard or Balrog deck.

The Balance of Things

  • The Balance of Things may be revealed as an on-guard card so long as at least one character in the company during whose site phase The Balance of Things is revealed carries at least one corruption source.

The Balrog

  • Makes a company overt.

Balrog of Moria

  • You cannot get the MP from a Balrog of Moria that you played.

Bane of the Ithil-stone

  • Bane of the Ithil-stone will only cancel effects outside of normal play as outlined in the rules.
  • If a card has multiple effects, Bane of the Ithil-stone will only cancel those effects that concern searching through decks and discard piles.
  • See also Rulings by Term, Card Effect Limitations.

Biter and Beater!

  • Biter and Beater! increases the bonus the weapon gives, so maximums on the weapon still apply.

Belegaer

  • @ Card Erratum: Read ‘Elven Coast’ as ‘Elven Shores’. [CoE] %

Bill the Pony

  • Card Erratum: the body should be 10, not 6.
  • Bill the Pony‘s special ability may not be used at an Under-deeps site.
  • Replacing the site card is considered movement, without a movement/hazard phase.
  • For a Fallen-wizard the nearest Haven is the site listed as the nearest Haven on the hero version of the site you are currently at.

Blackbole

  • May tap to give +1 prowess to another character facing an automatic-attack, or hazard keyed to his site.
  • Blackbole may attack in company vs. company combat, but he may not defend.

The Black Enemy’s Wrath

Black Rain

  • A Fallen-wizard may use this to play a hero ring item, but a Ringwraith player may not.

Book of Mazarbûl

  • Card Erratum: Replace “tap the bearer during the organization phase” with “tap Book of Mazarbûl during your organization phase.”

Bridge

  • Reset to hand size before moving to the second site.

Burglary

  • If you fail the roll for Burglary, you cannot then play an item.
  • See also Rulings by Term, Burglary Attempts.

-= CCC =-

Call of Home

  • @ Nothing is stopping you from transferring the one transferable item to a wounded character [CoE] %

Chance of Being Lost

Chill Douser

  • Does not receive benefits from itself, although it is affected by other Chill Dousers played previously in the turn on the same company.

Círdan

  • Cancels creatures keyed by region type, not by name.

Corsairs of Umbar

  • Card Erratum: Add “May also be played at any sites in Elven Shores, Eriadoran Coast, Andrast Coast, Bay of Belfalas, or Mouths of the Anduin.”

Cracks of Doom

  • Card Erratum: Add “Only playable during the site phase.” Remove “Otherwise, discard The One Ring and its bearer.”
  • Pledge of Conduct played on the bearer of the One Ring for this check will discard Cracks of Doom without effect.

Creature of an Older World

  • Makes a company overt.
  • This card will not put a Ringwraith into Fell Rider mode if there are any other allies in the company.

Crept Along Carefully

  • @ When duplicated the three movement restriction stays at the stated three regions and the hazard limit is once more reduced by one. [CoE] %

Cruel Caradhras

  • Card Erratum: Replace “Minas Morgul” with “Imlad Morgul.”
  • This card can be played on a company using region movement to leave a site in an affected region.

-= DDD =-

Deeper Shadow

  • Card Erratum: This is a short-event, not a long-event.
  • Deeper Shadow can cancel hazards by reducing the hazard limit to the point where the hazard resolving is no longer playable. If this is done to an on-guard card, the card is returned to the player’s hand.
  • The character must be moving to the site to change the site type. This works even though the site is not technically part of the site path. The character must also be moving to lower the hazard limit.

Deep Mines

  • Card Erratum: Add “Cannot be duplicated on a given Wizardhaven.”
  • @ The stage point requirement is checked when Deep Mines is revealed as the new site. If it is not met the company does not move at all, much like missing the roll for moving to an Under-deeps site. [CoE] %

Deftness of Agility

  • The extra strike is dealt with in a separate strike sequence.

Despair of the Heart

  • The corruption check occurs before the body check.

Dodge

  • Card Erratum: Replace “his body check is modified by -1.” with “his body is modified by -1 for the resulting body check.”

Double-dealing

  • You may only play items as listed on the card in front of you, although they may be of the other alignment.

Doubled Vigilance

  • Can be revealed on-guard.

Dragon’s Blood

  • If the body check forced by Dragon’s Blood fails, the character is not wounded.

Dragon’s Desolation

  • Playing Dragon’s Desolation to make a Dragon playable at a Ruins & Lairs does not necessarily require you to play a Dragon later in the turn.

Dragon’s Hunger

  • Card Erratum: Replace “Otherwise, the attack is canceled.” with “Otherwise, the attack is canceled and the opponent must reveal his hand.”
  • This card can be played regardless of how much of the hazard limit is used up, and may also be played against an automatic-attack. The opponent must discard a hazard creature from his hand if he has one.

Drowning Seas

  • Card Erratum: Remove “Cannot be duplicated.”

Dwar of Waw

Dwar Unleashed

  • Dwar must already be in a mode to use this card.

Dwarven Rings (all)

  • Give +7 to direct influence to a Dwarf bearer.

Dwarven Ring of Barin’s Tribe

  • The site has to be untapped to use this ring.

Dwarven Ring of Bávor’s/Drúin’s Tribe

  • Card Erratum: One “reshuffle the play deck” is sufficient.

Dwarven Ring of Thélor’s/Thrár’s Tribe

  • Card Erratum: Values in parentheses and brackets apply to a Dwarf bearer. The prowess/body modifications should read: “+2(4)/+1.”

-= EEE =-

Elf-song

  • When Elf-song saves a character from being discarded it also saves that character’s items.
  • Elf-song will effectively stop influence attempts against characters.

Elven Cloak

  • Can cancel a strike keyed to one, two or more Wilderness.

Emerald of the Mariner

  • Emerald of the Mariner is considered a source of 0 corruption points.

Enchanted Stream

  • Enchanted Stream stops you from moving in the first place, so effects that keep your company from being returned to their site of origin do not stop it.

Ent-draughts

  • Card Erratum: Replace “as a minor item” with “in addition to an ally or faction which has been successfully been played at Wellinghall.”

Escape

  • Cannot be played on a wounded character.

The Evenstar

  • Can be played even if there are no Wildernesses in play.
  • @ Does not affect hazards [CoE] %
    [Original ICE entry: Does not affect attacks. – caused confusion on its effect on Company vs. Company Combat]

Exile of Solitude

  • @ Followers are discarded as well, along with whatever they carry. [CoE] %

-= FFF =-

Fair Sailing/Fair Travels cards

Fate of the Ithil-stone

  • Fate of the Ithil-stone must be tapped before entering Barad-dûr in order to rotate it 180 degrees.

Favor of the Valar

  • Favor of the Valar requires you to draw eight cards, not to your hand size.

Fell Beast

  • This card can be played and resolved before any Nazgûl is played with it. A Nazgûl must be played as the first declared action in the chain of effects following the resolution of Fell Beast, or else this card is returned to its player’s hand. This card can be played on an existing Nazgûl attack, but the extra playability this card provides would not apply.

Fever of Unrest

  • The Dragon played is not considered keyed to anything.

Flatter a Foe

  • Against attacks with two of the types listed, use the harder number.
  • @ A direct influence bonus against the race of the hazard does apply (for example: Dáin II does get to use his +1 against Men when flattering a Men creature) [CoE] %

Focus Palantír

  • Will not allow a Ringwraith to use a palantír.

Foolish Words

  • All versions cannot be duplicated on a given character.
  • Card Erratum: Add “Cannot be duplicated on a given character.”

Foul Fumes

  • Will tap all sites in play that meet the requirements.
  • Foul Fumes will not continually keep sites tapped; it is only applied once to each site each turn.
  • See also Rulings by Term, Card Effect Limitations.

Freeze the Flesh

  • Freeze the Flesh will stop your opponent from gaining kill marshalling points from a character he eliminated in company vs. company combat.
  • Cannot be used on your Ringwraith to prevent it from being placed out of play. [# Cannot be used on your Ringwraith to keep you from losing the game.]

The Fortress of Isen

  • Card Erratum: Remove “A company moving to or from Isengard is not considered to be moving through Gap of Isen (including one less Borderland in their site path.)”

Fortress of the Towers

  • Card Erratum: Remove “A company moving to or from The White Towers is not considered to be moving through Arthedain (including one less Wilderness in their site path.)”

Fury of the Iron Crown

  • Orc and Troll characters may use a creature enhanced by Fury of the Iron Crown as a trophy.
  • A player only gains marshalling points from the creature if he would have received them normally.

-= GGG =-

Gandalf

  • Must be in the same company as the ring he tests.

Gangways over the Fire

  • @ A movement/hazard phase in which the Under-deeps movement failed is still a complete movement/hazard phase. [CoE] %

Gates of Morning

  • Gates of Morning discards hazard environments when it resolves, even if Peril Returned is in play.

Giant

  • Card Erratum: Add “Giant.”

Girdle of Radagast

  • Does not affect the regions in starter movement, except for the starting and ending regions.

Gloom

  • The “playable on …” conditions of the first paragraph do not apply to the second paragraph.

Goldberry

  • You may tap Goldberry to cancel an effect declared earlier in the same chain of effects that would return Goldberry’s company to its site of origin.
  • Goldberry cannot prevent a company from returning to its site of origin that failed its roll to move to an adjacent Under-deeps site.
  • May tap to give +1 prowess to another character facing an attack.

Gollum

  • The text on Gollum is an ability that you can choose to use.

Gollum’s Fate

  • This card is considered to target both The One Ring and Gollum. This means it cannot be played on your opponent’s The One Ring or Gollum.

Golodhros

  • He may use his special influence ability only during an opponent’s movement/hazard phase. His tapping to use his special ability does not count against the hazard limit.

Good Sense Revolts

  • The “playable on …” conditions of the first paragraph do not apply to the second paragraph.

Gothmog

  • Gothmog is not keyed to anything, the Orc or Troll he is played after must be keyed to a Shadow-land or Dark-domain.

Great Bats

  • Makes a company overt.
  • May tap to give +1 prowess to characters in combat.

Great Goblin

  • Card Erratum: “Unique. Orc. One Strike”

Great Lord of Goblin-gate

  • Card Erratum: “Unique.”
  • Makes a company overt.

Great-road

  • Card Erratum: Replace “opponent draws twice” with “opponent draws up to twice”
  • If you have two movement/hazard phases on the turn you played a Great Road, you return to the Haven at which you started the turn.
  • Replacing the site card is considered movement, without a movement/hazard phase.

Great Ruse

  • @ Cannot be played on sites without a minion counterpart, such as Morannon. [CoE] %

Great Secrets Buried There

Great Ship

  • Card Erratum: Add “Tap a character in target company during the organization phase to play Great Ship on that company.” Replace “…contains a coastal sea region…” with “…contains a coastal sea region and no consecutive non-coastal sea regions…”
  • Allows the canceling of one creature or the canceling and discarding of an event that targets the company in question or an entity associated with that company.

Greed

  • Is triggered by a special ring item being played, but not by items being transferred.

Guarded Haven

  • You may not use this card as a starting stage resource.
  • Card Erratum: Remove “A company moving to or from this site is not considered to be moving through the region containing the site (including one less region in their site path.)”

Gwaihir

  • Card Erratum: Should read “you may discard Gwaihir during the organization phase to allow his company…”

-= HHH =-

Hail of Darts

  • @ The effect of Hail of Darts lasts until the end of the turn. [CoE] %

Half an Eye Open

  • The “playable on …” conditions of the first paragraph do not apply to the second paragraph.

Halfling Strength

  • If used to heal a Hobbit when healing effects affect all characters in a company, Halfling Strength will heal all other wounded characters in the company.

Healing Herbs

  • Cannot stop a body check.

Healing of Nimrodel

Heedless Revelry

  • The “playable on …” conditions of the first paragraph do not apply to the second paragraph.
  • Card Erratum: Change “after the successful play” to “in response to the play.”
  • Does not interfere with the playing of the card it is revealed in response to.

Helm of Her Secrecy

  • You can play multiple Helms of Her Secrecy in one chain of effects. The player should make sure that he does not take the option of playing Éowyn out of his hand until the first copy declared is resolved.

Helm of Fear

  • Has no effect on a non-Ringwraith.

Here is a Snake

  • Here is a Snake does not prevent the use of hazards already on the table.
  • The “playable on …” conditions of the first paragraph do not apply to the second paragraph.

Here, There, or Yonder?

  • The ally does not have to be chosen or played until after the dice are rolled.

Hermit’s Hill

  • To play a major item here, Hermit’s Hill must be untapped

Hidden Haven

  • If both players reveal this as a starting stage card, on the same site, at the same time, it is set aside, and may not be played on that site by either player until the game begins.

Hidden Knife

  • Hidden Knife is effectively an attack.

Hoarmûath of Dir

Hold Rebuilt and Repaired

  • Card Erratum: Add “Playable during the site phase.”
  • See also Turn Sequence, Site Phase, General.

Horses

  • Card Erratum: Add “Playable only at the end of the organization phase.”

Hour of Need

  • May not be played in the Under-deeps.
  • @ If successful Hour of Need taps the site it is played at (not the site associated with the faction) [Van] %
  • @ Cannot be played at a tapped site [Van] %
  • @ Will not allow the play of a ‘free’ minor item when played in the organization phase [Van] %

 

The Hunt

  • The discarding and revealing of the card do not have to be in any specific order.
  • @ A Noble Hound does not shield Alatar from the creatures, he is still alone against them. [Van] %

Huorn

  • Card Erratum: Add “Awakened Plant.”

-= III =-

Ice-orcs

  • Card Erratum: Change the Shadow-hold symbol into a Ruins & Lairs symbol.

Icy Touch

  • @ Must target an Undead attack. [CoE] %
  • If two of these are in play, they both trigger at the same time, and the second one is discarded without effect.

Incite Denizens

  • When copying an attack put on the site by another card, Incite Denizens will not copy any other effects of the card.
  • When copying an attack put on the site by another card, the Incite Denizens attack will disappear if the other card is discarded.

In Darkness Bind Them

  • May not be used to play creatures keyed to double Shadow-lands.
  • @ This card allows you to key creatures to the mentioned regions by name. It does not change the region type used to judge whether an attack is detainment or not. [CoE] %

Indûr Dawndeath

  • Only one wounded character has to discard an item, and the hazard player chooses which character and which item they bear.
  • See also Rulings by Term, Nazgûl.

Inner Cunning

  • The site type for the agent’s home site is the one you would use if you went to visit the site.
  • The “playable on …” conditions of the first paragraph do not apply to the second paragraph.

In the Heart of His Realm

In the Name of Mordor

  • The “playable on …” conditions of the first paragraph do not apply to the second paragraph.

Ioreth

  • Card Erratum: Replace “Healing card” with “Healing effect.”
  • Will not duplicate the untap portion of a healing effect on tapped but unwounded characters.

Iron-road

  • Replacing the site card is considered movement, without a movement/hazard phase.

Iron Shield of Old

  • Card Erratum: Add “Shield.”

-= KKK =-

Khamûl the Easterling

  • The number of cards discarded is set at the time of declaration.
  • The cards are discarded from your opponent’s hand.
  • See also Rulings by Term, Nazgûl.

Knowledge of the Enemy

  • Removes cards from the game, not just from play.

-= LLL =-

Last Child of Ungoliant

  • Makes a company overt.

Leaf Brooch

  • The item being replaced by the Leaf Brooch being discarded must be in play to satisfy any targeting restrictions. When it comes time to discard that item, discard Leaf Brooch instead.
  • If used to replace a gold ring after a successful test, the bearer of the gold ring item gets the special ring item, not the bearer of the Leaf Brooch.

Leaflock

  • Allows the canceling of one creature or the canceling and discarding of an event that targets the company in question or an entity associated with that company.
  • May tap to give +1 prowess to another character facing an automatic-attack, or hazard keyed to his site.

The Lidless Eye

  • Playing this card discards its player’s Bade to Rule and prevents him from subsequently playing Bade to Rule.
  • You may only play this card if none of your opponents are Ringwraiths.

Long Dark Reach

  • The creature does not count against the hazard limit.
  • A creature must be played if there is one available.

Long Grievous Siege

  • There must be an eligible borderhold for this card to be played.

Long Winter

  • Will tap all sites in play that meet the requirements.
  • Long Winter will not continually keeps sites tapped, it is only applied once to each site each turn.

Lucky Search

  • Card Erratum: Replace “Discard all revealed cards except the item.” with “Reshuffle all revealed cards except the item back into the play deck.” Add at the end of the first paragraph “Discard item if the scout is wounded by this attack.”
  • @ Successful play does not tap the site.[CoE] % Thus you are not allowed a minor item after the Lucky Search item.
  • A Noble Hound does not face the attack instead of the character that played Lucky Search, because the strike is never assigned.

Lure of Expedience

  • Will trigger when a gold ring item is tested and a special item is successfully played.
  • Will trigger when an item is transferred.
  • Can be played on-guard and will trigger a corruption check when revealed in response to an item played.

Lure of Nature

  • Card Erratum: Replace “at the end of each movement/hazard phase” with “after all other hazards have been played.”
  • Corruption checks from Lure of Nature do not trigger if its bearer’s company returns to its site of origin.
  • The corruption checks caused by Lure of Nature happen at the end of the afflicted character’s movement/hazard phase. Of course, the character’s player can play resources to modify the corruption checks. The hazard player is allowed to play hazards in response, if the hazard player has enough hazard limit remaining. Hazards so played must directly affect the corruption checks caused by Lure of Nature. The hazard player can play no other hazards, no creature, no new corruption cards, etc.

Lure of Power

  • If two instances of Lure of Power are in play and are triggered, only force one check at -4, and both are discarded.

Lure of the Senses

  • The corruption checks happen at the end of the untap phase.

-= MMM =-

Magical Harp

  • Can be used at the Free Council.

Mallorn

  • Card Erratum: The first sentence should read: “Playable at Bag End only if Earth of Galadriel’s Orchard is stored there.”

Many Turns and Doublings

  • If Gates of Morning is in play, Many Turns and Doublings can cancel hazards by reducing the hazard limit to the point where the hazard resolving is no longer playable. If this is done to an on-guard card, the card is returned to the player’s hand.

Marvels Told

  • May be played during the site phase by a character in another company, as if he were in the company resolving their site phase.

Memories Stolen

  • This card is played after strikes are assigned, and the skills are lost as long as this card is in play.

Messenger to Mordor

  • Cards stored with Messenger to Mordor must be storable at a generic Darkhaven, not a specific one.

Mind Ring

  • May not be used by a Fallen-wizard to play a six mind character.

Mistress Lobelia

  • May not retrieve minor items unless they are listed as playable on the site or the item.

Misty Mountains

  • The “otherwise” on this card should be read as “alternatively.”

Morannon

  • Card Erratum: Should read “This card is used as a Dark-hold site card in the region of Udûn that is moved to…”
  • @ Companies at two different copies of Morannon cannot combine [CoE] %.

Mordor in Arms

More Alert than Most

  • The minimum of one strike still applies while Gates of Morning is in play.

More Sense than You

  • If there is only one character in the company, the attack is discarded without effect, but not canceled. The attack is still considered faced.

Morgul-horse

  • To bring a Nazgûl permanent-event back into your hand, Morgul-horse must be declared after tapping the Nazgûl is declared and before it resolves.
  • The alternative effect of this card can be played and resolved before any Nazgûl is played with it. A Nazgûl must be played as the first declared action in the chain of effects following the resolution of the alternative effect of Morgul-horse. If a Nazgûl is not played immediately following the resolution of this card, this card is returned to its player’s hand. This card cannot be played for no effect just to discard it.

Morgul-knife

  • @ Must target a Nazgûl attack. [CoE] %
  • The corruption is received immediately following the attack.

Morgul Night

  • Morgul Night is not discarded if Doors of Night leaves play.

Mountains of Shadow

  • The “otherwise” on this card should be read as “alternatively.”

Mount Doom

  • If the site type of Mount Doom changes, creatures may be keyed to the new site type, but not to the old site type.

Mouth of Sauron

  • Card Erratum: Add “Man.”

Mûmak

Muster

  • Card Erratum: Replace entire text with: “Warrior only. An influence check against a faction by a warrior is modified by adding the warrior’s prowess to a maximum modifier of +5.”

Muster Disperses

  • Muster Disperses cannot be revealed as an on-guard card.

My Precious

  • Does not count as Gollum for the purposes of Gollum’s Fate or any other card that specifically calls for Gollum.
  • May not be played as a character.
  • Does not give -1 MP to minions.
  • Must be face-up to gain two actions.
  • His attack is successful if all of the strikes are successful. His attack fails if any of his strikes fail.

-= NNN =-

Narya

  • Because of the way the timing rules work, characters tapping in support have no effect on the corruption check, since they will be untapped when the support resolves.
  • See also Rulings by Term, Corruption.

The Nazgûl are Abroad

Neeker-breekers

  • Card Erratum: Add “Does not effect Wizards.”

Nenseldë the Wingild

  • May tap to give +1 prowess to another character facing an attack.

New Friendship

  • The influence bonus from New Friendship applies only to the diplomat, but the corruption check bonus applies to any character in the diplomat’s company.

News Must Get Through

  • Cards stored with News Must Get Through must be storable at a generic Darkhaven, not a specific one.

News of the Shire

  • Affects all versions of Bag End.

Night

  • The bonuses for Men and Dúnedain do not apply to attacks.

Noble Hound

  • Card Erratum: Add the sentence: “If Noble Hound is tapped or wounded, treat it as though it were untapped for the purposes of assigning strikes.”

Nobody’s Friend

  • The “playable on …” conditions of the first paragraph do not apply to the second paragraph.

No Escape From My Magic

  • Card Erratum: Change “Playable on any faction in play” to “Playable on any unique faction in play.”

Not at Home

  • Cannot cancel any attack or automatic-attack except one from a Dragon, Drake, or Troll.

-= OOO =-

Old Forest

  • Card Erratum: Replace “healing cards” with “healing effects.”

Old Friendship

  • The influence bonus from Old Friendship applies only to the diplomat, but the corruption check bonus applies to any character in the diplomat’s company.

Old Man Willow

  • Card Erratum: Add “Awakened Plant.”

Old Road

  • May be used to influence an opponent’s faction only when you are attempting to bring your copy of the faction into play.
  • @ If successful taps the character’s site, not the site of the faction being played. [Van] %

The Old Thrush

  • Card Erratum: Add “Cannot be duplicated on a given attack.”
  • Cannot be used against agents, since none of them have a listed prowess of 13 or greater.

The One Ring

  • Can be used multiple times in a turn if the corruption checks are successful.
  • “Starting prowess” refers to the prowess printed on the character card.
  • If the bearer is a Ringwraith, The One Ring does not provide corruption to the characters in the company.
  • Cannot be played after a test from storing a gold ring.

Open to the Summons

  • Card Erratum: Replace “minion company” with “company.”
  • Does not allow you to start with a character that says he cannot be in the starting company.
  • @ Allows minions / Fallen-wizards  to play an Agent as a starting character. [CoE] %
  • @ Does not allow a Fallen-wizard to play a 6-mind character. [CoE] %

Orc Mail

  • Cannot be played on a company with allies in it, as there are no Dwarf or Hobbit allies.

-= PPP =-

Padding Feet

  • Card Erratum: Replace the first sentence with: “Playable during the site phase on a lone scout minion (no other characters or allies in his company) at the same site as an opponent hero company containing a hobbit.”

Palantír of Amon Sûl

  • Discard immediately if its company contains less than two characters while moving.

Palantír of Elostirion

  • Card Erratum: This item does not give MPs to a Fallen-Wizard regardless of other cards in play.

Palantír of Orthanc

  • Cannot be used on site cards.
  • Card Erratum: This item does not give MPs to a Fallen-Wizard regardless of other cards in play.

Palantír of Osgiliath

  • Discard immediately if its company contains less than four characters while moving.
  • Only copies tapping effects of other Palantíri, not continuous effects.

The Pale Sword

  • The corruption is received immediately following the attack.
  • You must control both the Pale Sword and the Nazgûl it is played on.

Pallando

  • Can only see the top card of an opponent’s discard pile.

A Panalopy of Wings

  • The Radagast bonus applies if you have a character manifestation of Radagast in play, or if you have declared you are playing Fallen-Radagast.
  • @ The effect of discarding this card lasts till the end of the turn. [CoE] %

Parsimony of Seclusion

  • @ May be used to fetch a Dragon faction. [CoE] %

Peril Returned

  • Will not stop Gates of Morning from forcing the discard of hazard environments when Gates of Morning resolves.

Plague

  • Card Erratum: Change “At the end of the target’s movement/hazard phase” to “At the end of your opponent’s turn.”

Praise to Elbereth

  • Nazgûl events discarded by Praise to Elbereth have no effect.
  • Which characters are tapping to discard which events must be declared when Praise to Elbereth is declared.
  • Nazgûl permanent-events that are targeted by Praise to Elbereth may not be tapped in response to its play.

Prophet of Doom

  • “Number of regions between” includes the region of Pallando’s site and the region the faction is played in.

Pûkel-men

  • Card Erratum: Add “Pûkel-creature.”

-= QQQ =-

Quiet Lands

  • Card Erratum: Replace “is reduced to half its original prowess (rounded up).” with “is reduced by half (rounded up).”

Quickbeam

  • May tap to give +1 prowess to another character facing an automatic-attack, or hazard keyed to his site.

-= RRR =-

Radagast’s Black Bird

  • This is a two mind ally.
  • @ Can cancel strikes against himself as often as you want. [Van] %

Rats

  • Only an unwounded character may be wounded by this card.

Rebuild the Town

  • Card Erratum: Replace “Playable on” with “Playable during the site phase on.”
  • See also Turn Sequence, Site Phase, General.

Reforging

  • You can use it on hoard items.

Reaching Shadow

  • May not be used to play creatures keyed to double Shadow-lands.
  • @ This card allows you to key creatures to the mentioned regions by name. It does not change the region type used to judge whether an attack is detainment or not. [CoE] %

Ready to his Will

  • Note that cards like Rank Upon Rank are applied as a passive condition, once an attack of the right type is in play. Therefore you can play and successfully resolve Ready to His Will in response to the declaration of Rank Upon Rank’s effect.

Regiment of Black Crows

  • Makes a company overt.
  • May tap to give +1 prowess to characters during combat.

Reluctant Final Parting

  • Card Errratum: Add “Determine nearest Haven using site cards of the same alignment (minion/hero) as the ally.”
  • Reluctant Final Parting has no effect on The Balrog.

Ren the Unclean

  • If you tap Ren the Unclean, then you cannot play resources to aid your character’s corruption checks. Your characters may tap in support.
  • The moving player makes corruption checks first. Each player decides the order of the corruption checks for their characters.
  • See also Rulings by Term, Nazgûl.

Rescue Prisoners

  • Card Erratum: This cards gives 2 marshalling points, not 3. Add “You receive the marshalling points for this card only when it is stored.”

Returned Beyond All Hope

  • Returned Beyond All Hope “un-eliminates” a hazard creature, allowing any manifestation of that character to be played.
  • This card may target creatures still in play as trophies.

Revealed to All Watchers

  • @ Is not stopped by Bane of the Ithil-stone, as drawing cards is different from searching / looking. [CoE] %

Rhosgobel

  • Card Erratum: Remove “A company moving to or from Rhosgobel is not considered to be moving through Southern Mirkwood (including one less Dark-domain in their site path.)”
  • Card Erratum: Replace “healing cards” with “healing effects.”

Ride Against the Enemy

  • Hazards have no effect on the attack, and any resource effects that benefit the attack are cancelled. The attack may still be cancelled.
  • You may not use a Wizard your opponent has played Sacrifice of Form on.
  • The character gets any appropriate combat bonuses list on his card.

Ringlore

  • Card Erratum: Add “Playable only during the site phase. Tap the sage and the site.”

The Ring’s Betrayal

  • The ring must be chosen at time of declaration if the character bears more than one.

River

  • Card Erratum: Should read “Playable on a site. If a company that has moved to this site this turn does not tap a ranger, it must do nothing during its site phase.”
  • You have until the beginning of the site phase to tap a ranger, and you may tap the ranger at the beginning of the site phase without entering the site. You must tap one ranger for each river played on the site.

Röac the Raven

  • Card Erratum: Replace “no modifications to the influence check are required.” with “treat this influence check as if it was made by a diplomat.”
  • His special ability may only be used during the site phase.
  • He can make the attempt by himself.
  • Using this ally to make an influence attempt does not tap a site, and may be done if his company is at a tapped site.

Rumor of Wealth

  • Can be played on-guard.

Rumours of Rings

  • @ Rings played on this card cannot be discarded to satisfy Rolled Down to the Sea; discarding is not playing. [Van] %

Ruse

  • If Ruse is played by a scout who is the only character in the company, the attack has no effect. If there is a creature card it is discarded. The attack is considered faced but not canceled.

-= SSS =-

Sable Shield

  • A bearer who did not tap while facing a strike will not tap if the strike is successful.
  • A detainment strike will not discard the Sable Shield.
  • @ Other strikes without wounding effects will not discard the Sable Shield either. [CoE] %

Sack over the Head

  • Affects any Hobbit or Dwarf wounded by the attack, not just those wounded by the Troll.

Sacrifice of Form

  • Card Erratum: Replace “-3 to any body checks” with “+3 to any body checks.”
  • After Sacrifice of Form is played, you may not play a different Wizard and your opponent may not play the Wizard you sacrificed.
  • This card is played after strikes are assigned.
  • See also Turn Sequence, Site Phase, Company versus Company Combat.

Secret Entrance

  • Can be played on a company that does not move.
  • See also Turn Sequence, Organization Phase, Choosing a New Site.

Secret Passage

  • Does not work if the site type changes.
  • See also Turn Sequence, Organization Phase, Choosing a New Site.

Seek without Success

  • @ Cannot be countered by Withdrawn to Mordor as the agent is already discarded upon declaration of Seek without Success. [CoE] %

Siege

  • Card Erratum: Change the Border-land symbol in the first line to a Border-hold symbol.
  • Goes away when the site it was played on is discarded.
  • If you move to a site with Siege played on it, any effect which can give you a second movment/hazard phase that turn will allow you to avoid the effects of Siege.

Sentinels of Numenor

  • Sentinels of Numenor will not give an extra marshalling point to Army of the Dead.

Shadowfax

  • Card Erratum: “an additional site card may be played and an additional movement/hazard phase.”
  • Cannot use his special ability if another ally is in the company.

Silent Watcher

  • Card Erratum: Gives 1 marshalling point, not 0. Add “Pûkel-creature.”

Skinbark

  • May tap to give +1 prowess to another character facing an automatic-attack, or hazard keyed to his site.

Slayer

  • Card Erratum: Gives 2 marshalling points, not 0. Add “Slayer.”
  • Only one attack can be canceled by tapping a character.
  • All of the strikes will go against the same character.

Sly Southerner

  • This is a two mind character.

Snaga-hai

  • Can be influenced at any site they can be played at.

Sneakin’

  • Will still affect the company if its size rises above two after resolution.

Something Has Slipped

  • The -2 applies for each character that is wounded.
  • Wounding an ally triggers this card.
  • You cannot “become wounded” if you are already wounded before the strike.

So You’ve Come Back

  • If two companies join, and both companies have a So You’ve Come Back played on them, the hazard player chooses which one to discard.
  • A character in a company with just allies is by himself for the purposes of this card.

Spider of the Morlât

  • Spider attacks from Spider of the Morlât played as a permanent-event are considered detainment vs. minion companies.

Spying Out the Land

  • @ Your opponent can play as many copies of revealed hazards as he is able. [CoE] %

Squint-eyed Brute

  • This is a two mind character.

Star of High Hope

  • @ Does not affect hazards [CoE] %
    [Original ICE entry: Does not affect attacks. – caused confusion on its effect on Company vs. Company Combat]

Stay Her Appetite

  • Card Erratum: Change “plus two” to “plus five.”
  • If Stay Her Appetite is played on an ally with no prowess, there is no attack, but all other affects of the card apply.

Stealth

  • Prevents the revealing of a creature on-guard.

Sudden Call

  • You may not shuffle Sudden Call into your deck while you are drawing cards. Drawing cards is an indivisible action.

Summons from Long Sleep

  • Card Erratum: Change “When the reserved creature is played, another Dragon or Drake may be reserved.” to “Discard this card after the reserved creature attacks.”
  • Reserving the creature does not count against the hazard limit.
  • @ A creature on Summons from Long Sleep cannot be discarded to satify Dragon-feuds; discarding is not playing.  [CoE] %

Sun

  • Does not affect attacks.

Swarm of Bats

  • Does not help an attacking company in company vs. company combat.

-= TTT =-

They Ride Together

  • Company size is still limited to seven.

Thing Stolen

  • Playing the item will tap the site if it is not already tapped.

Thong of Fire

  • The prowess requirement only applies when transfering or playing Thong of Fire, and includes modifications to the character’s prowess.

Thorough Search

  • Card Erratum: Replace “…to play any item normally found at its current site.” with “…to play a minor, major, or gold ring item normally found at its current site.”

Thrall of the Voice

  • Does not allow starting with a character that specifies it may not be in the starting company.
  • @ Can be duplicated on the play of a given character, but that does not lift the maximum of 6 mind. [CoE] %

Threats

  • For this card, your prowess is calculated when it resolves.

Tidings of Bold Spies

  • Tidings of Bold Spies only copies attacks, not effects that allow certain creatures to become automatic-attacks.

Tolfalas

  • Card Erratum: Should read: “Playable: Items (minor, major, greater*) *Scroll of Isildur only.”

Tom Bombadil

  • Card Erratum: Change “that targets a company” to “that targets a company, or an entity associated with a company.”

Traitor

  • Card Erratum: Replace the last paragraph with “This card is discarded when a character fails his corruption check.”
  • Two instances in play of Traitor have no extra effect and are both discarded with the next failed corruption check.
  • Traitor cannot be revealed as an on-guard card.
  • This is an attack with the same race as the character attacking, and a normal prowess of ten plus the character’s prowess.
  • Characters facing a Traitor when it is not their turn may not play resources, but may still tap for full prowess.

Treebeard

  • Card Erratum: Replace “Redhorn Gap” with “Redhorn Gate.”
  • May tap to give +1 prowess to another character facing an automatic-attack, or hazard keyed to his site.

True Fána

  • Combat modifiers that modify prowess only against a strike do not count when determining the Wizard’s prowess.
  • When this spell is used against an agent, the agent does not receive the two 6-sided dice bonus.
  • See also Turn Sequence, Site Phase, Company versus Company Combat.

Twilight

  • Card Erratum: Add “This card may be played at any time during any player’s turn.”
  • Can target a card that has not yet resolved.
  • Can be played as a resource during your opponent’s turn.

“Two-headed” Troll

  • Makes a company overt.

-= UUU =-

The Under-galleries

  • You cannot play Morannon at The Under-galleries. However, you can play Ancient Stair from Morannon, move to The Under-galleries, and zip back to Morannon at the end of the turn.

Usriev of Treachery

  • You may not use this item to assign a third strike to the character.

Use Palantír

  • Card Erratum: Change text to “Sage only. Tap sage to enable him to use one Palantír he bears for the rest of the turn.”

Use Your Legs

  • All strikes by the entire company count for capturing Hobbits.
  • The characters placed off to the side are not considered prisoners for MP purposes.

-= VVV =-

Veils Flung Away

  • Card Erratum: Each body check is modified by -1, not +1.

Vilya

  • Card Erratum: Vilya should now read: “Playable on Elrond only. +4 prowess, +2 body, +6 direct influence until the end of the turn. If Elrond is at Rivendell and your play deck has at least 5 cards in it, you may take 3 resource cards of your choice from your discard pile and shuffle them into your play deck. Elrond makes a corruption check modified by -3. Cannot be duplicated on a given turn.”

Voices of Malice

  • May be played during the site phase by a character in another company, as if he were in the company resolving their site phase.

-= WWW =-

We Have Come to Kill

  • You must have enough influence to control the character to play this card.
  • @ We Have Come to Kill may be used to bring in agents, but not Ringwraiths or Fallen-wizards. [Van] %
  • [Original ICE entry: as above, minus ‘or Fallen-wizards’]

Were-worm

  • Wounding an ally discards an item.

Where There’s a Whip

  • Only characters with a mind and prowess less than the Whip bearer’s will untap.
  • The body check will discard Orcs and Trolls.

Whispers of Rings

  • @ Rings played on this card cannot be discarded to satisfy Rolled Down to the Sea; discarding is not playing. [Van] %

White Mountains

  • The “otherwise” on this card should be read as “alternatively.”

The White Tree

  • Card Erratum: Add “Discard the Sapling of the White Tree.”

Will of Sauron

  • Long-events are only discarded if Will of Sauron ceases to be in play, not if one particular card leaves play.

The Windlord Found Me

  • Can be used to recover a Wizard discarded with Sacrifice of Form.
  • You can play your Wizard at the Haven when you store this card even if Saw Further and Deeper is in play.
  • Card Erratum: Add “If you do not place this card with a character after the attack, discard it.”

Winds of Wrath

Winged Change Master

  • Only affects Radagast when using region movement.

Witch-king of Angmar

  • Although he becomes a long-event when tapped, he is discarded when the effect resolves just like other Nazgûl. The long-event effect will remain until the appropriate time.
  • See also Rulings by Term, Nazgûl.

Withdrawn to Mordor

  • To discard an on-guard card with Withdrawn to Mordor you must do so before the card is revealed.
  • The “playable on …” conditions of the first paragraph do not apply to the second paragraph.

Wizard’s Laughter

  • Card Erratum: Change “Wizard only.” to “Wizard only during opponent’s site phase.”

Wizard’s Myrmidon

  • Can be played wiht another card, like Squire of the Hunt, that reduces the influence required to control the character. Use the lower number to control the character.

Wizard’s Ring

  • Card Erratum: Replace “Ignore any effect that would discard this item” with “Cannot be stored, stolen, or transferred.”
  • This is not a ring item.

Wolf-riders

  • The “playable on …” conditions of the first paragraph do not apply to the second paragraph.

Wolves

  • Card Erratum: Change “Animals” to “Wolves.”

Worn and Famished

The Worthy Hills

  • Since this site never taps, no free minor items may be played here.
  • (Minion version) The Worthy Hills effect of not tapping does not interfere with the satisfying of active conditions.

Woses of Eryn Vorn

  • Card erratum (minion version): Change “Man faction” to “Wose faction.”